Convulse julkaisi nimikappaleen ja “Whirlwind”-singlen tulevalta “Deathstar”-levyltä

Kuva: Okko Sorma

Tiedote 4.10.2020

Kotimainen death metal -veteraani Convulse julkaisi New Noise Magazinen kautta uuden singlen ja lyriikkavideon tulevan ”Deathstar”-albuminsa nimikappaleesta. Myös uusi “Whirlwind”-single kuunneltavissa. Levy ilmestyy 30.10.2020 Transcending Recordsin kautta.

Kitaristi/vokalisti Rami Jämsä kommentoi nimibiisiä:

For the song ‘Deathstar,’ I wrote about my frustration towards the growth of human greed, extinction, and hatred. It feels like we are living in a doomed planet called ‘Deathstar’ and I am worried about humanity and our future. This song was composed coequally with the band. The main riff came when we jammed together freely, a very common way for us to compose songs. I come very often to the rehearsal studio with only one riff or song idea and then we jam it together and see where it leads to. Sometimes good ideas lead to finished songs, but we also have a lot of unfinished ideas. The main riff on ‘Deathstar’ reminds me a little bit of Sepultura and on the chorus there is some ‘King Crimson’ influences.

Jämsä kertoo “Whirlwind”-kappaleesta:

‘Whirlwind’ was among the very first tracks we started to compose for Deathstar. The rhythm of the song is a waltz and the main riff and B part came very naturally when we jammed together at our rehearsal studio. We had some difficulties adjusting the chorus and B part together, so we tried different approaches and various ways to find the final version. It was worth of it, because ‘Whirlwind’ is one of our favorite songs on the album. Mark Knopfler and Dire Straits was the reference guitar sound on the middle part of the song and some can hear echoes from Kingston Wall too.


Lyrically, ‘Whirlwind’ is a desperate story about holy wars and nationalism. We have tried to learn to live together thousands of years and we have not learned anything. ‘Whirlwind’ is a metaphor for the cycle of evilness that we are keeping up from generation to generation. ‘Mothers milking their empty breasts, future bleeding in desert. Fathers died before they saw their seeds of life. Whirlwind, the Holy land of death. Whirlwind and moon goes around.’

1 Extreme Dark Light
2 Whirlwind
3 The Summoning
4 Chernobyl
5 We Sold Our Soul For Rock’n Roll
6 Deathstar
7 Make Humanica Great Again
8 Light My Day
9 The End

Lähde: New Noise Magazine
Kuva: Okko Sorma

+ artikkelit

Metalliluolan uutistoimitus. Tällä hetkellä uutisia ja tiedotteita julkaisevat Ville Krannila, Pete Alander, Mikko Huuhka ja Joni Renko.